You Are My Sunshine

June 5, 2007 at 1:40 pm Leave a comment

Words and music by Jimmy Davis and Charles Mitchell. Copyright © 1940 Peer International Corp. Copyright Renewed. International Copyright Secured.

You are my sunshine
My only sunshine
You make me happy
When skies are gray
You’ll never know, dear
How much I love you
Please don’t take my sunshine away

The other night, dear
As I lay sleeping
I dreamed I held you in my arms
When I awoke, dear
I was mistaken
And I hung my head and cried

[Chorus]

You are my sunshine
My only sunshine
You make me happy
When skies are gray
You’ll never know, dear
How much I love you
Please don’t take my sunshine away

I’ll always love you
And make you happy
If you will only say the same
But if you leave me
To love another
You’ll regret it all someday

You told me once, dear
You really loved me
And no one else could come between
But now you’ve left me
And love another
You have shattered all my dreams

Here is a 1968 television appearance of the songwriter, Jimmy Davis (backed up by none other than the very young Oakridge Boys), singing the hit:

“You Are My Sunshine” has been named an official song of Louisiana, with these two extra verses added to extoll the virtues of the Bayou State:

Oh Louisiana
My Louisiana
The place where I was born
White fields of cotton
Green fields of clover
The best fishing and long tall corn

Crawfish gumbo
And jambalaya
The biggest shrimp and sugar cane
The finest oysters
And sweet strawberries
From Toledo Bend to New Orleans

Kind of makes your mouth water, doesn’t it?

Entry filed under: Folk Songs, Friendship, Places.

This Land Is Your Land Skip to My Lou

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


This site is in constant construction mode. We will continue to add great traditional children songs as we can, but we need your help.

If you know additional verses or alternate words to a song listed on Kid Songs, please leave a comment. We appreciate all input, and will be happy to include helpful info whenever possible.

If you know of a great kids' song that is not yet listed here, please email it to us with any background info you can include.

 
Finally, the purpose of this site is to help people find children's songs. We have made every attempt to insure that the inclusion of these songs does not infringe on any copyright protection. If you are the legal copyright owner of any song listed on this site, or if you have information regarding their copyright status, please contact us.

Stats 'n Stuff

  • 1,285,927 hits since July 23, 2006