My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean

February 27, 2008 at 10:37 am 1 comment

This traditional Scottish folk song has been around for at least a couple of centuries.  Some say it is singing of Charles Edward Stuart, known in Scotland as “Bonnie Prince Charles” (or “Bonnie Prince Charlie”), who was supported by many mid-18th century Scots in his attempt to regain the English throne for the royal line of the Stuarts.

My Bonnie lies over the ocean,
My Bonnie lies over the sea;
My Bonnie lies over the ocean.
Oh, bring back my Bonnie to me.

[Chorus]

Bring back, bring back;
Oh, bring back my Bonnie to me, to me.
Bring back, bring back;
Oh, bring back my Bonnie to me.

Last night as I lay on my pillow,
Last night as I lay on my bed;
Last night as I lay on my pillow
I dreamed that my Bonnie was dead.

Oh, blow ye the winds o’er the ocean,
And blow ye the winds o’er the sea;
Oh, blow ye the winds o’er the ocean,
And bring back my Bonnie to me.

The winds have blown over the ocean,
The winds have blown over the sea;
The winds have blown over the ocean
And brought back my Bonnie to me.

Entry filed under: Folk Songs, Traditional Songs.

Auld Lang Syne This Old Man

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


This site is in constant construction mode. We will continue to add great traditional children songs as we can, but we need your help.

If you know additional verses or alternate words to a song listed on Kid Songs, please leave a comment. We appreciate all input, and will be happy to include helpful info whenever possible.

If you know of a great kids' song that is not yet listed here, please email it to us with any background info you can include.

 
Finally, the purpose of this site is to help people find children's songs. We have made every attempt to insure that the inclusion of these songs does not infringe on any copyright protection. If you are the legal copyright owner of any song listed on this site, or if you have information regarding their copyright status, please contact us.

Stats 'n Stuff

  • 1,118,828 hits since July 23, 2006

