The Old Chisholm Trail

August 16, 2006 at 3:57 pm 3 comments

Oh, come along boys and listen to my tale
I’ll tell you all my troubles on the ol’ Chisholm trail

[Chorus]

Come a ti-yi yippee yippee yea, yippee yea
Come a ti-yi yippee yippee yea

On a ten dollar horse and a forty dollar saddle
I was ridin’ and a-punchin’ Texas cattle

We left ol’ Texas October twenty-third
Drivin’ up the trail with the U-2 herd

I’m up every mornin’ before daylight
And before I sleep the moon shines bright

It’s bacon and beans most every day
I’d just as soon be eatin’ prairie hay

I woke up one mornin’ on the Chisholm trail
With a rope in my hand and a cow by the tail

Oh, it’s cloudy in the west and a-lookin’ like rain
And my old slicker’s in the wagon again

Oh the wind start to blow and the rain it did fall
And it looked to us cowpokes like we’d lose ’em all

I jumped in the saddle and grabbed hold the horn
The best cowpuncher that ever was born

I was on my best horse, and she started to run
The quickest shootin’ cowboy that ever pulled a gun

Entry filed under: Cowboy Songs.

The B-I-B-L-E Old Dan Tucker

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sonora Slim  |  December 22, 2006 at 11:00 am

    Alternates to the refrain:

    Come a ti-yi yippee, yippee yo, yippee ay
    Come a ki-yi yippee
    Come a whoopie ki ay
    Come a ti-yi yippee yippee ay

    Reply
  • 2. lippy  |  June 8, 2007 at 11:48 pm

    I’m guessing it is:
    “Listen to my tale”

    though I guess there are some species one would want to hang by the fly swatter aspects of a hind end

    Reply
  • 3. Kyle  |  June 12, 2007 at 8:30 am

    Heh, good catch lippy, and thanks! I’ve cleaned up after my share of cattle cabooses… not sure I’d want to listen to ’em as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


This site is in constant construction mode. We will continue to add great traditional children songs as we can, but we need your help.

If you know additional verses or alternate words to a song listed on Kid Songs, please leave a comment. We appreciate all input, and will be happy to include helpful info whenever possible.

If you know of a great kids' song that is not yet listed here, please email it to us with any background info you can include.

 
Finally, the purpose of this site is to help people find children's songs. We have made every attempt to insure that the inclusion of these songs does not infringe on any copyright protection. If you are the legal copyright owner of any song listed on this site, or if you have information regarding their copyright status, please contact us.

Stats 'n Stuff

  • 1,126,911 hits since July 23, 2006

