Apples and Bananas

April 7, 2008 at 12:04 pm 5 comments

This great little song is not only fun, but a great way to help toddlers learn the sounds of the vowels.  After singing the first verse normally you sing it five more times, each time replacing the vowel sounds in the words “eat,” “apples” and “bananas” with the long vowel sounds of A, E, I, O and U.

I like to eat, eat, eat apples and bananas
I like to eat, eat, eat apples and bananas

I like to ate, ate, ate ay-ples and ba-nay-nays
I like to ate, ate, ate ay-ples and ba-nay-nays

I like to eat, eat, eat ee-ples and ba-nee-nees
I like to eat, eat, eat ee-ples and ba-nee-nees

I like to ite, ite, ite ie-ples and ba-nie-nies   [pronounced with long "i" sound]
I like to ite, ite, ite ie-ples and ba-nie-nies

I like to ote, ote, ote oa-ples and ba-no-nos
I like to ote, ote, ote oa-ples and ba-no-nos

I like to ute, ute, ute oo-ples and ba-nu-nus
I like to ute, ute, ute oo-ples and ba-nu-nus

 

Entry filed under: Educational, Kid Songs. Tags: .

Go Tell Aunt Rhody Diddle, Diddle Dumpling

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Death by taco's  |  January 14, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    Well, Well, Well we meet again my enemy prepare to die….EAT TACO’S!!!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Cheryl  |  February 10, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    I am back in school studying to be a elementary teacher and we learned this song in music and movement for children. I taught it to my grandchildren and they love it!!!!

    Reply
  • 3. heather  |  September 21, 2010 at 11:38 am

    awesome song

    Reply
  • 4. Marcin Z Gda�ska  |  March 23, 2011 at 4:49 am

    Ciekawy artyku�. Czekam na kolejne – d�ugo szuka� takich rzeczy w necie. Ju� dodaje do �ledzonych.

    Reply
  • 5. pat cadiz  |  June 22, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    what is the tune used to sing this song

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


This site is in constant construction mode. We will continue to add great traditional children songs as we can, but we need your help.

If you know additional verses or alternate words to a song listed on Kid Songs, please leave a comment. We appreciate all input, and will be happy to include helpful info whenever possible.

If you know of a great kids' song that is not yet listed here, please email it to us with any background info you can include.

 
Finally, the purpose of this site is to help people find children's songs. We have made every attempt to insure that the inclusion of these songs does not infringe on any copyright protection. If you are the legal copyright owner of any song listed on this site, or if you have information regarding their copyright status, please contact us.

Stats 'n Stuff

  • 883,413 hits since July 23, 2006

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

