I’m in the Lord’s Army

October 1, 2007 at 9:03 am 7 comments

This classic and fun old Bible School song seemed to have disappeared for a while since the time that we were kids.  Only recently have I heard it being sung again.

I may never march in the infantry
Ride in the cavalry
Shoot the artillery
I may never fly o’er the enemy
But I’m in the Lord’s army  [Yes, sir!]

I’m in the Lord’s army  [Yes, sir!]
I’m in the Lord’s army  [Yes, sir!]

I may never march in the infantry
Ride in the cavalry
Shoot the artillery
I may never fly o’er the enemy
But I’m in the Lord’s army  [Yes, sir!]

Click here for a pretty good rendition of the song, with motions and plenty of enthusiasm.

Entry filed under: Action/Movement, Christian. Tags: .

Wink’em Blink’em You’re a Grand Old Flag

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ash  |  May 19, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    Thank you so much for this song! My two-year-old loves it, and I love singing it with him! It’s so wonderful to hear him singing the words to songs I loved as a girl.

    Reply
  • 2. C Dachs  |  September 25, 2008 at 12:22 am

    This song took on new meaning for us when our son was born with Downs syndrome – he surely is a member of the Lord’s army!! Whenever we sing this song to him with other’s in earshot, their eyes well up — we love this song! Thanks for including it!

    Reply
  • 3. T Koester  |  September 28, 2008 at 9:21 am

    Missing Verses

    I may never zoom into outerspace
    Enter the rocket-race
    Land on a lunar face
    I may never work at a polar base

    But I’m in the Lord’s Control (Roger!) Repeat 3X
    Sing verse again

    I may never bend like banana man
    Stretch like plastic man
    Flex like He-man
    Inspector Gadget’s no match for who I am
    Cuz I’m one of the Lord’s Heroes ( Na-Na-Na-Nah) Repeat 3X
    Sing verse again.

    There are actions of course for all verses but quite hard to explain in print. Sorry!

    Reply
  • 4. Lindy  |  September 1, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    Another verse

    I may never chase ghost with scoody doo
    help freddy find a clue
    solve a mystery or two
    i may never have a shaggy hair do
    but i’m in the Lords army Scooby dooby do (repeat 3x)

    Reply
  • 5. Charry  |  August 19, 2011 at 10:23 am

    I may never cruise in a battleship; dive in a submarine, shoot a torpedo.
    I may never sail o’er the deep blue sea, but I’m in the Lord’s Navy (aye-aye)
    Chorus: I’m in the Lord’s Navy (aye-aye)
    I’m in the Lord’s Navy (aye-aye)
    Repeat verse.
    I’m also looking for a cowboy version of this song with actions

    Reply
    • 6. Kathy Sinnema  |  November 28, 2011 at 9:09 pm

      I may never ride in a rodeo (riding a horse)
      Rope the big steer (swinging a rope)
      Brand the little one (reach down to brand)
      I may never go on a roundup (arms form a circle like a big hug)
      But I am the Lords cowpoke (pshew pshew)3Xs (shooting pistols, each one once) repeat verse as usual, then after the last pistol shots raise them up and blow the smoke from each, and finally return to holsters

      This is what we sang growing up in North Central Montana

      Reply
  • 7. Christina Goodman Campbell  |  October 31, 2011 at 9:39 am

    Thank you for this. I have not heard this since I was a child. I was looking for something to do with my sunday school class and this is it:))

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


This site is in constant construction mode. We will continue to add great traditional children songs as we can, but we need your help.

If you know additional verses or alternate words to a song listed on Kid Songs, please leave a comment. We appreciate all input, and will be happy to include helpful info whenever possible.

If you know of a great kids' song that is not yet listed here, please email it to us with any background info you can include.

 
Finally, the purpose of this site is to help people find children's songs. We have made every attempt to insure that the inclusion of these songs does not infringe on any copyright protection. If you are the legal copyright owner of any song listed on this site, or if you have information regarding their copyright status, please contact us.

Stats 'n Stuff

  • 887,517 hits since July 23, 2006

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

