Why Doesn’t My Goose

August 19, 2006 at 4:31 pm 9 comments

Another great round that my sisters and I used to sing.

Why doesn’t my goose
Sing as well as thy goose
When I paid for my goose
Twice as much as thou?

Entry filed under: Animals, Rounds. Tags: .

Uno, Dos, Tres Gatitos Rain Rain Go Away

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fay White  |  April 11, 2007 at 3:02 am

    We used to sing the last line as “twice as musc as thine”. Does anyone know the song’s origin? Or date? Seems that envy and status via possessions haven’t changed much over the years ay!

    Reply
  • 2. Jeree Pawl  |  July 18, 2008 at 8:59 am

    We also sang “thine” and as we sang it last night a disagreement ensued and this is what I found. Does that make it two to one?

    Reply
  • 3. Ariane  |  October 1, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    We also sing it “thine”, my Mom taught it to us, her Mom sang tons of songs as I am sure her Mom did etc etc.

    Reply
  • 4. Nancy  |  October 18, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    I grew up singing “thou” from the late fifties on. However, I just checked two old Girl Scout songbooks — one from about 1960, which says “thou” and the other from 1963, which says “thine.” So it’s either one as far as I can tell. In the former, I paid more than you did; in the latter, I paid more for my goose than you did for yours.

    Reply
  • 5. SB  |  July 4, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    we sang this as a round at camp in the late seventies in New England and sang “thine”

    Reply
  • 6. greater.bilby  |  August 13, 2010 at 12:12 am

    We sang “thou” in the 60′s to mid 70′s at church children’s and youth camps.

    When we sang the last word “goose”, everyone would jump up and sing “goose!” very loudly and fairly high – even the guys did from what I remember.

    Reply
  • 7. pamapo  |  November 7, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    Sang this in the early to mid ’50′s – keen girl guide!
    We sang, “when I paid for my goose twice as much as thine”.The third repetition of goose was always higher and much louder!

    Reply
  • 8. Jacob Bloom  |  December 6, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    We were just looking at all of William Starr’s rounds because my daughter’s Suzuki teacher Lee taught ‘Why Doesn’t My Goose’ on the violin. And on the site we were just looking at, for “Why Doesn’t My Goose” it had thine.

    Reply
  • 9. abiva  |  April 11, 2013 at 9:02 pm

    Hello! I would like to ask who made this adaptation for this song?
    Thank you very much!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


This site is in constant construction mode. We will continue to add great traditional children songs as we can, but we need your help.

If you know additional verses or alternate words to a song listed on Kid Songs, please leave a comment. We appreciate all input, and will be happy to include helpful info whenever possible.

If you know of a great kids' song that is not yet listed here, please email it to us with any background info you can include.

 
Finally, the purpose of this site is to help people find children's songs. We have made every attempt to insure that the inclusion of these songs does not infringe on any copyright protection. If you are the legal copyright owner of any song listed on this site, or if you have information regarding their copyright status, please contact us.

Stats 'n Stuff

  • 825,741 hits since July 23, 2006

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

