Zacchaeus

August 4, 2006 at 2:47 pm 71 comments

A favorite among kids and parents alike, this song is viewed weekly more than any other here at Kid Songs.  It teaches kids the Bible story of Jesus’ meeting with the tax collector Zacchaeus (found in Luke 19).

Zacchaeus was a wee little man
And a wee little man was he
He climbed up in a sycamore tree
For the Lord he wanted to see
And as the Savior passed that way
He looked up in that tree
And He said, “Zacchaeus, you come down!
For I’m going to your house today
For I’m going to your house to stay”

       

To hear the tune (and see an adorable rendition of the song with original choreography by little Ryleigh), you can enjoy the video below:

Entry filed under: Action/Movement, Christian. Tags: .

I’m a Nut Jesus Loves the Little Children

71 Comments

  • 1. Linda  |  August 16, 2006 at 7:39 pm

    Thank you for the word to Zacchaeus. It will come in handy on Thursday when teaching children about Zaccheaus.
    Many blessings to your ministry.

  • 2. Sandy  |  August 16, 2006 at 7:44 pm

    Great sight!

  • 3. Kyle  |  August 18, 2006 at 10:17 am

    Linda and Sandy, thanks for the kind words. I hope you both will have reason to enjoy KidSongs many times again in the future. :)

  • 4. amy  |  August 27, 2006 at 1:07 pm

    thank you, my niece needed the words to zacchaeus for a program that her sunday school class. i had tried other sites but found yours had what i needed no searching just right to the point. we as a family believe that a site all can visit regardless of age is a very good site.Again thenks.
    amy

  • 5. Nancy  |  October 23, 2006 at 12:48 pm

    I’m so happy to find the words for Zacchaeus was a Wee Little Man and I wonder how I can find the tune . . .

    Thank you for your help!

  • 6. Amy  |  March 17, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    And I thought it was going to be hard to find the lyrics to this song. Thanks so much, I hope the kids love this song as much as I did when I was young. Blessings!

  • 7. P.J. van Duin  |  April 18, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    Thanks for the text of the Zachaeus-song. Now I would be happy when I also should have the musical notes, so that I could play the song on the organ.
    Kind regards,
    Peier J. van Duin

  • 8. a lowery  |  April 25, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    thanks to google search “words to zacchaeus” and your site that so quickly came up, I know have the words to this oldie but goodie. I knew it by heart still from learning it as a child but wanted to double check the words so I can print it and have handy for other teachers. we are starting a new 2 and 3 yr olds class as our new church plant grows and I am putting together weekly lesson plans. thanks so much!

  • 9. J Eaton  |  June 13, 2007 at 8:13 am

    thanks i needed the words for my youth misssion trip and didnt know where to get them! thanks again! God Bless!!!

  • 10. Grainne  |  August 31, 2007 at 3:03 am

    Any idea what the words are to another Zacchaeus song I learned as a child? It begins

    Zacchaeus was a greedy little man
    He cheated all the people in the land
    when the rent they did not pay
    He would take their lands away
    And their furniture and everything they had

    The last verse ends with
    Zacchaeus was a happy little man
    but I can’t remember the rest of the verse.
    Can anyone help me?

  • 11. Kyle  |  September 2, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    Gainne, I’m afraid I don’t know that version. Hopefully someone else will see your comment and be able to help, though.

  • 12. CARL FERNANDES  |  October 6, 2007 at 10:35 am

    Hi grainne, i know a little bit more to the song.. i remembered it as a kid and used to sing it all the time! im 25 and stil sing it but i forgot the words.

    Zacchaeus was a greedy little man
    He cheated all the people in the land
    when the rent they did not pay
    He would take their lands away
    And their furniture and everything they had

    Chrous
    Zacchaeus, Zacchaeus, nobody liked Zacchaeus (x2)

    verse 2
    One day he heard that Jesus was in town
    The man who loved just evryone around
    so he climbed the highest tree,
    for his luck he cudnt see
    ….. (something like, jesus said im coming to you house for tea)

    hope that helps..

  • 13. Aria  |  December 16, 2007 at 2:17 pm

    thank you so much.
    i was singing this song,
    but i could not remember
    all the words. thanks.

  • 14. AcCeDeNtaLyMe  |  March 3, 2008 at 11:15 am

    lol i was doing a essay on Zacchaeus and i thought of this song so i looked it up on google and found it here! =] thanks ya!

    ~<3MaY GoDs LoVe Be WiTh YoU<3~

    ?????

  • 15. Julie Nicholls U.K.  |  March 8, 2008 at 12:57 pm

    Preparing Junior Church session on Zacchaeus and needed the words and tune for the song. Alleluia! here it was on this site AND with adorable little Ryleigh doing the actions – that had to be the icing on the cake.
    Thank you and God bless you all.

  • 16. deborah  |  April 18, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    cool and cute thanks

  • 17. C Dachs  |  September 25, 2008 at 12:15 am

    Second verse I learned as an adult listening with my children to one of the Cedarmont videos:

    Zacchaeus was a wee little man
    But a happy man was he
    For he had seen the Lord that day
    And a happy man was he
    A very happy man was he

  • 18. Emily  |  December 2, 2008 at 7:59 am

    Another verse to Zacchaeus was a greedy little man:

    Then Jesus came along that very way,
    And full of love the people heard him say,
    to Zacchaeus in the tree
    won’t you please come down to me
    for I’d love to share a meal with you today.

    Anyone know the third verse?!?!?!?
    I only know verse 1 and the above (verse 2)

  • 19. plene  |  July 12, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    It is a beautiful song

  • 20. plene  |  July 12, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    I like the song

  • 21. Misty  |  October 19, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    Oh my! I learned this song as a little girl! Thank you so much for putting up the lyrics! I’m studying the story right now and it was killing me to not be able to remember but the first three lines! Thanks!

  • 22. Kim  |  October 30, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    I go to Israel a couple of times a year and we always stop by a very old, large sycamore tree. I usually sing part of this song for the pilgrims, but could only remember half of that verse. I’m leaving for there again on Wednesday…this time with the lyrics!

    Thanks,

    Kim

  • 23. Alex Chan  |  November 8, 2009 at 1:44 am

    The little girl really know what the song means. And her actions matches the song lyrics. I like this song too.

    Zacchaeus was a wee little man
    A wee little man was he,
    He climbed a sycamore tree
    For the Lord he wanted to see
    As the Saviour passed that way
    He looked up in that tree,
    And He said,”Zacchaeus, you come down!
    For I’m going to your house today
    For I’m going to your house stay.

    Alex.

  • 24. taylor  |  January 18, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    i love that song
    actually some kids at my church sang and done the moves to that song and it was beautiful

  • 25. lilian nwaite  |  August 25, 2010 at 10:40 am

    i lilke the song but i do kn the verse

  • 26. lilian nwaite  |  August 25, 2010 at 10:41 am

    i need someone to help me out

  • 27. Player Profiles  |  October 29, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    Best you could make changes to the post subject title Zacchaeus Kid Songs to something more generic for your webpage you create. I enjoyed the the writing nevertheless.

  • 28. Byron  |  October 30, 2010 at 9:11 am

    I particularly like the alternative version of the song as I’lll be preaching on the Zacchaeus text this week and hope to point out that Zacchaeus may have been a “wee little man” but very few felt sympathy for him. He was the chief tax collector (organized extortion in those days I suspect). He probably climbed the tree more out of impatience and anger more than anything esle (I suspect he was used to people getting out of his way and people were not doing that on the day Jesus came through town. The point of the incident being that even a man lilke Zacchaeus could be accepted by Jesus.

  • 29. David  |  October 30, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    I too am preaching on this text and I think that Zach was on Jesus side – he didn’t repent and start being good he already (present tense) was making good on giving away 50% to the poor and correctiing over charges of taxes times 4….

    • 30. Don Rousu  |  December 2, 2011 at 4:08 pm

      David,

      I’m with you! I’m afraid this event has been misunderstood and misinterpreted for years. I also studied it in the original Greek, and it does use the present tense. Zacchaeus was already doing all of these things, and only Jesus saw him for who he really was — a true son of Abraham. The rest of Jewish society probably treated him as an ally of the much hated Roman oppressors (and therefore, a “sinner”) and, no doubt, alientated him. When Jesus comes to his house, he speaks peace and blessing over him, and affirms his true righteousness before God — contrary to popular opinion.

  • 31. Randy Booth  |  November 9, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    Try these additional verses

    2. Zacchaeus was a curious man, and a curious man was he.
    He climbed down from the sycamore tree, with the Lord he wanted to be.
    And as they ate, some people said Christ acted shamefully.
    But he said, “I came to seek the lost,
    and those who are far away. And those who are far away.”

    3. Zacchaeus was a happy man, and a happy man was he.
    The Lord had shown him how God’s love could set a sinner free.
    As Zacchaeus stood to speak, still no one could believe.
    And they said, “Zacchaeus, you’re not the same!”
    Zacchaeus gave his money away!
    Zacchaeus gave his money away!

  • 32. Nicola Clarkin  |  December 14, 2010 at 10:45 am

    When I was in primary School we learnt

    Zacchaeus was a greedy little man
    He cheated all the people on the land
    For the rent they could not pay
    He would take their farms away
    All their furniture and everything they had

    Chorus
    Zacchaeus, Zacchaeus
    Nobody liked Zacchaeus

    Zacchaeus, Zacchaeus
    Zacchaeus was a greedy little man

    I don’t remember the other versus after this as I learnt it when i was only about 8.

    I went to Vere Foster in Belfast

  • 33. sop  |  January 7, 2011 at 9:21 am

    hey …… it’s really nice song i love it . thanks

  • 34. ERJIE CHRISTIAN  |  January 19, 2011 at 1:10 am

    WOW ITS GREAT NOW I KNOW ABOUT ZACCHEUS ITS HELPFUL
    FOR THE CHEATERS

  • 35. sally foster  |  February 13, 2011 at 8:33 am

    Thank you everyone for the Zacchaeus lyrics. They are for my mum who’s 76. she said she started to remember this song from when she was 5 now I can give her all these verses to sing and enjoy.
    What a find!!! thanks

  • 36. Zaccheus song | CheapWebsiteSetup  |  March 5, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    […] Zacchaeus « Kid SongsWe have moved to a new site! … Please change your bookmark to… […]

  • 37. VICKY  |  March 30, 2011 at 6:51 am

    [words for the chorus; zaccheaus]
    now zaccheaus was a little man and a very little man was he . he climbed into a sycamore tree to see what he could see . and as the saviour passed that way he looked into the tree , and said now zaccheaus you come down , i’m going to your place for tea .
    now zaccheaus quickly scrambled down ,
    out of that sycamore tree and said dear lord i’ve been as bad as bad as i can be,
    i’m sorry now for all my sins i’ll never more grieve thee ;
    salvation came to zaccheaus’ house when the lord came home for tea. [tune slightly different to the one sung in the video.]

  • 38. anusha  |  June 4, 2011 at 1:53 am

    Thanks! I was looking for this song – we sang it as kids and I m gonna teach it to our Awana group!

  • 39. Connie W  |  June 23, 2011 at 4:40 am

    Thanks. I love it! I don’t remember learning this song myself in Sunday School, but I remember my children learning it. Once you learn it, you remember the story without fail. Anytime a Bible story can be put to music, it helps the children remember, especially when it’s a catchy little tune.
    Thanks for the extra verses–I had never heard them. My Sunday School lesson on Sunday is on Zacchaeus–I thought if I can sing the lyrics to the song, it would add to the lesson.

  • 40. Adora  |  June 30, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    Zacchaues was a wee little man and a wee little man was he!
    he climbed up in a sycamore tree for the lord he wanted to see!
    and as the savior passed him by, he looked up in that tree!
    and he said
    Zacchaeus you come down from there! for im going to your house today!
    zaccahaeus came down that tree, as happy as he could be!
    he gave his money to the poor and said ” what a better man I’ll be!

  • 41. Percy and Kitty  |  August 20, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    My husband and I are going to speak on the story of Zacchaeus tomorrow during “Children’s Church.” I was both amazed and happy to see the song just as I learned it as a child in Sunday School. Thanks for the additional verses. We are excited about sharing this with the children and believe it will really make the story of Zacchaeus “come alive” for them.

    God bless you for the work you do!
    Percy and Kitty

  • 42. Ryleigh  |  December 29, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    Big thanks for the Zacchaeus song! I’m teaching in a Sunday school and was going to teach a new song to the kids there.One kid asked me the “Is there any songs for Noah and Zacchaeus?” and I got both songs! And I can’t wait to teach them Noah and Zacchaeus songs!

  • 43. ZacchaeusFan  |  December 29, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    Is there any other songs for Zacchaeus?

    Wee little regards,
    ZacchaeusFan

  • 44. hey!  |  December 29, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    wow! thanks for the song! amazing!

  • 45. Montana  |  December 29, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    Z A C C H A E U S
    by Montana

    Zacchaeus was a wee little man
    But he’s an extremely greedy man
    He’s a tax collector
    And also he’s a stealer
    But when Jesus admonished him he says “Okay than!”

    That’s my Zacchaeusy poem

  • 46. Ari  |  December 29, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    @Montana,you’re good at poems.Your poem is Zacchaeusly amazing!

  • 47. Montana  |  December 29, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    @Ari:
    Thanks Ari,you can be my Zacchaeusy friend!

  • 48. Jojo Jojojo Jo Sephine  |  December 29, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    GOOD SONG! luv it

  • 49. James Jacob  |  December 29, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    I’m a child-preacher.I am going to preach this song! Thanks a bunch for teaching me this song!

  • 50. Regina (just call me Yuyu)  |  December 29, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    Wonderful! I agree that the wee little man will be proud that he’s famous and even there is a song for him.I am happy with this song! Zacchaeus is my favorite song.

    Yuyu

    WARNING! Yuyu is easily grossed out and NEVER send gross things to her.

  • 51. SmurfiLou  |  December 29, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    I agree with you,Yuyu! I’m in your group with the wee little man!

  • 52. Elizabeth  |  December 29, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    geez whatta great song!

  • 53. Youssel  |  December 29, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    wah,lagunya bagus banget! Essyel mau ga tuh? si Ryleigh yang nyanyi itu kaya seumuran Essyel.Ryleighnya lucu.nyanyi sama jogetnya lucu.Essyel tau kan,Zakheus? dia pendek tapi dia manjat pohon biar bisa ngeliat Tuhan Yesus.Tuhan Yesus mau singgah di rumah Zakheus.padahal,Zakheus itu rakus! baik ya,Tuhan Yesus.

  • 54. Essyel  |  December 29, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    mau dong koko! si ryleigh lucu banget sampe pengen essyel cabik-cabik.nyanyinya memang lucu,koko! jogetnya juga lucu minta ampun.zakheus,tau dong! ya lah,Tuhan Yesus memang baik.

  • 55. Elianne Josefena Worung  |  December 29, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    You may not undersand what Youssel and Essyel is saying.I will translate it for you.

    Youssel: Wow,the song is very good! Do you want it,Essyel? Ryleigh that sing it is like the same age with you.Ryleigh is cute.Her singing and dancing is cute.You know Zacchaeus,right? He is short but he climbed a tree so he can see Lord Jesus.Lord Jesus wants to stay in Zacchaeus’ house even though Zacchaeus is greedy.Lord Jesus is nice,right?

    Essyel: I want it,Youssel! Ryleigh is very cute until I want to rip her.Her singing is absolutely cute,Youssel! Her dancing is very cute.Yes,I know Zacchaeus.Of course,Lord Jesus is nice.

  • 56. Paris Lovina Villanueva  |  December 29, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    What language does Youssel and Essyel speak?

  • 57. Elianne Josefena Worung  |  December 29, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    Indonesian.

  • 58. CAPS LOCK  |  December 29, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    GOOD SONG!

  • 59. Zacchaea  |  December 29, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    Luv U Zacchaeus…
    If I’m big I wanted to find a man by the name Zacchaeus and marry him. (I’m still 17)

  • 60. Girigiri Girl  |  December 29, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    I like this song.

  • 61. Benny  |  January 2, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    I like Zacchaeus..

  • 62. Maria  |  January 2, 2012 at 9:57 pm

    THIS SONG IS SO RIDICULOUS!! hate you

  • 63. Borauex  |  January 3, 2012 at 9:22 pm

    Could you please add another Zacchaeus songs? I wanna post it in my Zacchaeus Wiki.To visit my wiki,just click my name.

  • 64. Victoria  |  January 3, 2012 at 9:25 pm

    Nice but why I cant hear the sound of the video? I already push my Ipad 2 sound buttons but still cant hear.Give me some solutions please??!! I want to know the tune of Zacchaeus!!

  • 65. Judy Pol  |  January 25, 2012 at 4:23 pm

    When I was asked to teach the class for the youngest kids in February, I discovered that Zacchaeus will be the lesson. I sort of remembered this song from when I was in Sunday School myself (about 50 years ago); I could remember the tune, but not all the words. Your site came up when I searched. Thanks for being here. Judy

  • 66. abbie  |  April 7, 2012 at 6:49 am

    does anybody know the rest of the song with the chorus that goes
    “Come down zacchaeus, down from the tree, come down zacchaeus give the lord his tea?”

  • 67. Kathy Aram  |  October 6, 2012 at 11:06 am

    I want to know when this traditional version of Zacchaeus was written. I would like to know how long this song has been used to teach the story of Zacchaeus.

  • […] could anyone connect the joyful story of Zacchaeus (which many people know of from the memorable children’s song about him) with the notion that Jesus will judge those who refuse to let him reign over them?  Yet […]

  • […] a bit like saying Zacchaeus was actually a very, very tall man, but in discussing his stature you absolutely must include the […]

  • 70. healthy children  |  April 30, 2013 at 7:09 pm

    When I originally commented I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments
    are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I receive four emails with the
    same comment. Perhaps there is a means you are able to remove me from that service?
    Thanks!

  • 71. You Are Somebody's Saint | Rumors of AngelsRumors of Angels  |  November 3, 2013 at 9:51 am

    […] So the name Zacchaeus means something. It is rare in the New Testament for us to know the names of the characters, the […]

Trackback this post


This site is in constant construction mode. We will continue to add great traditional children songs as we can, but we need your help.

If you know additional verses or alternate words to a song listed on Kid Songs, please leave a comment. We appreciate all input, and will be happy to include helpful info whenever possible.

If you know of a great kids' song that is not yet listed here, please email it to us with any background info you can include.

 
Finally, the purpose of this site is to help people find children's songs. We have made every attempt to insure that the inclusion of these songs does not infringe on any copyright protection. If you are the legal copyright owner of any song listed on this site, or if you have information regarding their copyright status, please contact us.

Stats 'n Stuff

  • 942,892 hits since July 23, 2006

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

