I’m a Nut

August 4, 2006 at 2:40 pm 11 comments

This nutty song was one of my big sister’s favorites when we were kids.  Now my own kids love it, and start singing it out of the blue at the most unexpected times.  (Like when we’re in the car and I happen to say something they think is just totally absurd.  I guess they think they’re being funny…)

Thanks to reader Amanda for reminding me of verse #3 (which then reminded me of #4).  I hadn’t heard that one in years!

I’m an acorn, small and round
Lying on the cold, hard ground
People come and step on me
That’s why I’m so cracked, you see

[Chorus]

I’m a nut, I’m a nut
I’m a nut in a rut, amen!

I’m so nutty, I don’t know
Why the squirrels love me so
I’m descended from an oak
Nuts to you, and that’s no joke

Called myself on the telephone
Just to see if I was home
Asked myself out on a date
Picked me up at half past eight

Took myself to a show
Sat myself on the very last row
Put my arms around my waist
Got so fresh I slapped my face

If you want to hear how the song goes, try this version by YouTube contributor Jessica:

Entry filed under: Silly Songs. Tags: .

I’m a Little Teapot Zacchaeus

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. amanda  |  March 9, 2007 at 9:41 pm

    another verse is:

    Called myself on the telephone…

    [See above for Amanda’s contribution. Thanks, Amanda!]

    Reply
  • 2. Kyle  |  March 12, 2007 at 8:48 am

    Oh, wow, I can’t believe I had forgotten that one! This was one of my big sister’s favorite songs back when we were kids, and I’ve heard her sing that verse probably hundreds of times. Haven’t heard it since, though, and I had forgotten all about it.

    Thanks, Amanda!

    Reply
  • 3. J  |  November 20, 2007 at 9:00 am

    We used to sing this one in kindergarten but I think it was just the very first verse and chorus … and after the “people come and step on me”
    we’d sing something like, “SPLAT!!!!!!! PEANUT BUTTER!” …and then do the chorus going
    “im a nut (click click w/ fingers). in a rut (click click!)” …

    odd haha.

    Reply
  • 4. Julie  |  July 19, 2008 at 3:47 am

    I loved this song as a kid to, problem is all I can remember is a different verse and the chorus. May be we had a diiferent version here in OZ.

    One day a little boy walked by
    Looked at me and winked his eye
    Said I’ll have you for my tea.
    I said Oh no you wont eat me.

    I’m a nut( click Click with tounge)
    In a rut (Click Click)

    Reply
  • 5. Bernice Polk  |  September 3, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    Was great to get more verses…..

    The one I always sing is:

    Love myself, I think I’m grand
    Go to the show just to hold hand

    Put my arms around my waist,
    Go so fresh I slapped ny face,

    Reply
  • 6. Toni  |  April 3, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    The verse I used to sing at summer camp in Texas went:

    Coca-cola came to town
    Pepsi Cola shot him down
    Dr. Pepper fixed him up
    Now we all drink 7-up!

    I’m a nut…

    Reply
  • 7. mel  |  July 31, 2010 at 11:14 am

    hi i was wondering if you knew the name of the cd with the version of ‘im a nut’ that goes:
    I’m an acorn, small and round
    Lying on the cold, hard ground
    People come and step on me
    That’s why I’m so cracked, you see

    [Chorus]

    I’m a nut, I’m a nut
    I’m a nut in a rut, amen!

    I’m so nutty, I don’t know
    Why the squirrels love me so
    I’m descended from an oak
    Nuts to you, and that’s no joke

    been searching everywhere for this version and cant seem to find that one
    thanks

    Reply
  • 8. Awesome Loukas  |  September 18, 2010 at 6:56 am

    Well… this song is tradintionally English. The Americans and a few other people changed the song. Like in the coca-cola came to town. They changed it from Iron-Brew (a Scottish drink, look it up) to Monatain Dew. The nut bit is like this: Im a little coconut, lying on the coca ground. Thats why I am Nuts you see.
    Then the Im a Nut bit goes like: Im a nut Im a nut Im a Crraaazzzyy. Im a nut Im a nut Im a Crraaazzzyy. Im a nut Im a nut Im a Crraaazzzyy. I don’t remember the song to well though. But that’s the original version.

    PS: I learnt this at PGL Little Canada on the Isle Of Wight http://www.pgl.com

    Reply
  • 9. Awesome Loukas  |  September 18, 2010 at 6:57 am

    whoops I meant http://www.pgl.co.uk

    Reply
  • 10. sheable  |  July 16, 2012 at 9:16 am

    I remember it going this way:

    I love myself, I think I’m grand!
    I go to the movies and hold my hand.
    I put my arms around my waist and when
    I get fresh, I slap my face!!

    Reply
  • 11. songscouting  |  May 2, 2013 at 4:53 am

    This is how the song was sung in the 1960s. Cocoa-brown refers to the brown coconut. If you are doing a performance, you may choose to move the second verse to the end for a “big finish”.

    I’M A LITTLE COCOA BROWN

    I’m a little cocoa brown,
    I’ve been lying on the ground.
    People always step on me,
    That’s why I’m so cracked, you see.

    Chorus:
    I’m a nut (clicking noise with tongue) clck clck
    I’m a nut clck clck
    I’m a nut, I’m a nut, I’m a nut clck clck

    Oh, I can sing and I can dance,
    I wear ruffles on my
    Whoops! Boys, take another guess.
    I wear ruffles on my dress.
    Chorus

    Called myself on the telephone,
    Just to hear my golden tones.
    Asked myself out for a date,
    Gotta be ready by half-past-eight.
    Chorus

    Took myself to the picture show,
    Sat myself down in the very first row.
    Put my arms around my waist,
    Got so fresh I slapped my face!
    Chorus (sing twice)

    The lyrics with Coca-Cola are another version of the song, as is I’m a Little Piece of Tin.

    I’m a little piece of tin,
    Nobody knows what shape I’m in.
    I’ve got four wheels and a running board,
    I’m not a Chevy and I’m not a Ford.

    Honk, honk
    Rattle, rattle, rattle,
    Crash
    Beep, Beep

    Honk, honk
    Rattle, rattle, rattle,
    Crash
    Beep, Beep

    Honk, honk

    (There are motions that go with both songs)
    SongScouting.WordPress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


This site is in constant construction mode. We will continue to add great traditional children songs as we can, but we need your help.

If you know additional verses or alternate words to a song listed on Kid Songs, please leave a comment. We appreciate all input, and will be happy to include helpful info whenever possible.

If you know of a great kids' song that is not yet listed here, please email it to us with any background info you can include.

 
Finally, the purpose of this site is to help people find children's songs. We have made every attempt to insure that the inclusion of these songs does not infringe on any copyright protection. If you are the legal copyright owner of any song listed on this site, or if you have information regarding their copyright status, please contact us.

Stats 'n Stuff

  • 943,058 hits since July 23, 2006

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

