I’m a Little Teapot

August 4, 2006 at 2:34 pm 19 comments

I’m a little teapot, short and stout
Here is my handle, here is my spout
When I get all steamed up, hear me shout
Just tip me over and pour me out

Entry filed under: Action/Movement, Traditional Songs. Tags: .

Hush-a-bye Baby I’m a Nut

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. N. Larsen  |  March 1, 2007 at 11:00 pm

    After the line “pour me out”, there were additional words as: Polly put the kettle on and we’ll all have tea, Grandma used to sing…………there are more words and that is what I don’t remember, please, if you know the rest, let me know.

    Reply
    • 2. Luci  |  April 12, 2011 at 11:08 pm

      Tho the fashion seems to change in so many ways…. yet to the pot we cling…..O I’m a little teapot…..

      Reply
      • 3. Luci  |  April 12, 2011 at 11:10 pm

        or at least this is the version I’ve always sang….I use to have an old 45 record that had it on there, but doubt it’s still at my parents house.

  • 4. Jennifer  |  March 22, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    I actually know all the words but one–

    Two little dishes on a kitchen table sat.
    Each thought the other was so useless and so hat(?).
    While they argued back and forth ’til late in the night,
    The teapot standing by would sing with endless delight–

    Oh, I’m a little teapot short and stout.
    Here is my handle, here is my spout.
    When I get all steamed up then I shout–
    Just tip me over, pour me out.

    I’m a very clever pot it’s true
    Here’s an example what I can do.
    I can change my handle and my spout
    To tip me over pour me out.

    Polly, put the kettle on and we’ll have some tea,
    Grandma used to sing.
    Oh, since then our taste has changed in so many ways,
    Yet to the pot we cling.

    Oh, I’m a little teapot short and stout.
    Here is my handle, here is my spout.
    I can change my handle or my spout–
    Just tip me over, pour me out.

    (spoken)
    *I would like to teach this to all of you kids,
    So come on you little teapots and grab your lids*

    First you put your right hand on your hip,
    That makes the handle that you can tip.
    Then you make your left hand form the spout
    To tip you over pour you out.

    Now let’s see how clever you can be
    Change your position and you will see
    You can change your handle and your spout
    To tip you over pour you out.

    You can have a lot of fun if you’re lean or stout
    Doesn’t mean a thing.
    Now you know the way it’s done there should be no doubt,
    So everybody shout–

    Oh, I’m a little teapot short and stout.
    Here is my handle, here is my spout.
    When I get all steamed up then I shout–
    Just tip me over, pour me out–

    Tip me over pour me out.
    BRRRRUMMMMMM.
    *Oh look! You spilled me!*

    My mother-in-law made a CD for my kids with this whole song on it–taken off of one of her dad’s old records. I don’t know any more about it than that–if anyone needs to know more, email me and I’m sure that I can ask my mom-in-law to dig up the record.

    Reply
    • 5. Miloui  |  January 30, 2014 at 11:34 pm

      Yea! Thank you for posting

      Reply
  • 6. Jennifer  |  March 22, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    Oops–forgot to include my email address–schatzepage@comcast.net

    Reply
  • 7. Sarah  |  December 29, 2007 at 9:32 pm

    I forgot the words at first so i had to look them up again.

    Reply
  • 8. Kylie  |  February 18, 2008 at 11:30 am

    that song is awesome

    Reply
  • 9. siman cowell  |  March 26, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    i’m a little tea pot short and stout here is my handle and here is my spout when i get all steamed up hear me shout tip me over and pour me out. I LUV YOU NY!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 10. Beth  |  March 26, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    i luv NYU and i love that song i’ve been singing it all week long

    Reply
  • 11. Cliff  |  April 24, 2008 at 8:21 am

    A fun variation to this song is when the performer instead of forming the “handle” and the “spout” forms two “handles” Then changes the words to the following:

    I’m a little teapot, short and stout
    Here is my handle, here is my . . . well I’ll be darned! I’m a sugar bowl

    Reply
  • [...] is sung to the tune of I’m a Little Teapot, and is a wonderful introduction to geometric shapes. I’m a little triangle, look at me I have [...]

    Reply
  • 13. emma  |  April 22, 2011 at 11:54 am

    im a little tea pot song is awesome!

    Reply
  • 14. MichaelC2B  |  September 16, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    I had the little yellow record for kids when I was a kid, and that version said, “Polly put the kettle on, Polly put the kettle on, Polly put the kettle on, we’ll all have tea; Sookie take it off again, Sookie take it off again, Sookie take it off again…” And that is all I remember, except for the “I’m a little teapot” chorus – or refrain – whatever you would call that – lol. I am a huge fan of True Blood, and this song is the only place I ever remember hearing the name “Sookie” till I watched it (Anna Pacquin’s character, of course). My siblings and I used to play that record over and over, and it’s so funny that those were the only lyrics that I remembered besides the “I’m a little teapot” chorus.

    Reply
  • 15. MichaelC2B  |  September 16, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    I just googled both, and it seems that the record that I had when I was a kid was a “medley” of the 2 songs. I looked up “I’m a Little Teapot” and even was able to listen to the song – and then I found “Polly put the Kettle on”. The latter was a poem written by a man in the 1700s, and simply was, “Polly put the kettle on, Polly put the kettle on, Polly put the kettle on, we’ll all have tea; Sukey (or Susan) take it off again, Sukey take it off again, Sukey take it off again, we’ll all go home”. Interesting spelling – “Sukey” instead of “Sookie”. OK, now I want to find that record – lol. I don’t have kids, but if I did I would make sure they enjoyed all the goofy stuff we did when we were kids. I hope parents are keeping this stuff alive.

    Reply
  • 16. Dom  |  October 25, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    My daughter Is going to be performing “I’m a little teapot” on stage in a few weeks and she’s being asked to learn the version which includes the “grandma used to sing” line. I’ve been hunting high and low for this version as an mp3 on line but had no luck at all. If any of you guys have this version at home perhapse you could find a way to convert it to mp3 or wav format and make it available? It’s a long shot I know but if you don’t ask etc… I’m hoping to play it in the car so my daughter can learn it. (dom7@talktalk.net)

    Reply
  • 17. Jonathan  |  June 25, 2012 at 11:08 am

    I used to have a little orange record with this on it – it contained the line “Grandma used to sing… scidibididoo” (or so it sounded!) Anyone remember this

    Reply
  • 18. turnkit  |  October 6, 2013 at 6:57 pm

    Reply
  • 19. margaret chicken  |  June 8, 2014 at 10:19 am

    One of the variations of this came many years ago from when my son was at primary school.

    I’m a little robot short and square,
    I have no arms and I have no hair,
    If you want an answer do a sum,
    Press my button and out I come.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


This site is in constant construction mode. We will continue to add great traditional children songs as we can, but we need your help.

If you know additional verses or alternate words to a song listed on Kid Songs, please leave a comment. We appreciate all input, and will be happy to include helpful info whenever possible.

If you know of a great kids' song that is not yet listed here, please email it to us with any background info you can include.

 
Finally, the purpose of this site is to help people find children's songs. We have made every attempt to insure that the inclusion of these songs does not infringe on any copyright protection. If you are the legal copyright owner of any song listed on this site, or if you have information regarding their copyright status, please contact us.

Stats 'n Stuff

  • 907,817 hits since July 23, 2006

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

